French fur-traders named Calico Rock while exploring the White River. The bluffs looked like calico colored cloth popular
in the day.
Calico Creek provided a landing spot along the White River with low-slung hills and valleys that made travel easier than
other points along the river. Ample fur-trapping, logging, and farming even since prehistoric times made the area a
natural for economic development.
Explore the settling of Calico Rock in this online gallery featuring events from 1815 to 1901:
|Copyright 2008-2013, Calico Rock Museum Foundation, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Explore the world of steam boating along the White River by our replica of the
pilothouse of the Ozark Queen. The Queen was the last steamboat to dock at
Calico Landing in 1903, although the Myrtle Corey traveled to Norfork in 1905. Our
collection includes a model of the Ozark Queen constructed by Ed Matthews and
given to the museum by the Captain R.C. Matthews Family. The collection also
includes a model of the Myrtle Corey.
Guests can try their hand at grinding corn
the way the Cherokee and Shawnee did in
small villages and family homesteads
around Calico Rock. This grinding stone
was found in a field near town.
Our collection contains a number of artifacts from the Civil
War, including handwritten letters, gear, and medals. Of
particular note is a collection of bullets dug from a
The One Room School includes a raised platform with
teacher's desk and blackboard. The pupil desks
include a bench (left) very similar to the ones used in
schools in the area from 1890 to 1905. This one was
hand crafted by Jim Cresto. A pupil desk from the
Pineville School is also part of the collection including
a fabulous collection of original school books from the
Pineville and Calico Rock schools, c 1905-1930,
donated by Mauzel Beal.
The collection also includes original slate boards used
by students in 1890-1905, the last remaining piece of
the original blackboard from the Corinth School, and a
map from the 1950s given in memory of Mrs. Joyce
Klein. The gallery was made possible by donations in
memory of Mr. Emmitt Whitten.
Jesse and Frank James lived in Calico
Rock at the Shaver Hotel for a time in
the late 1800's. Frank taught a term at
an area school. Guests can learn
more about their connection to Calico
Rock and even take their photo with
| Visit Our Online Galleries:
Try your hand at steering a steamboat in the replica of the Ozark
Guests can explore how trappers caught
critters and stretched hides to make
clothing and use pelts for trading.